ACC • 2024-2025 Board of Directors Announced at Annual General Meeting

Halifax, NS (May 28, 2024) – The Atlantic Chamber of Commerce (ACC) is pleased to announce its board of directors for 2024-2025. Des Whelan was sworn in as ACC’s new board chair during the 128th annual general meeting held in Halifax, Nova Scotia  Based in St. John’s , Des  is the CXO of Training Works, a company that has  revolutionized workforce development for many different organizations and sectors.  

“I am honoured to serve as Chair of the Board of Directors for the Atlantic Chamber of Commerce. Our region stands to benefit from population growth and dynamic economic opportunities, and I am committed to advocating vigorously for the interests of our business community while supporting sustainable development initiatives that will benefit not only our membership but also the broader Atlantic region. Our Chamber will play a pivotal role in shaping a prosperous future that respects our rich heritage and embraces the potential new opportunities.”

Des Whelan is an entrepreneur and community leader with over 30 years in business. His extensive business experience spans technology and education sectors, with a specific focus on sales and growth activities, providing him with a broad perspective and a robust network of professional relationships. Over the years, Des has not only led and grown his own enterprises but has also played a pivotal role in shaping local economic development through his involvement in the chamber movement. His leadership in the chamber has been marked by advocacy for common-sense business-friendly policies and fostering an environment that encourages entrepreneurship, innovation, and sustainability. Des balances his professional achievements with a deep commitment to his family and community

Consisting of both chamber and corporate partner representatives from throughout Atlantic Canada, Des is joined by:

Margo Soucy – 1st Vice Chair                    Conception Bay Area Chamber of Commerce

Dawn Binns – 2nd Vice Chair                     Greater Charlottetown Chamber of Commerce

Neil Rogers – Secretary/Treasurer           Yarmouth Area Chamber of Commerce

Chad Peters – Past Chair                              Halifax Chamber of Commerce

Noel Eustace                                                  Fredericton Chamber of Commerce

Paul Langdon                                                 Ulnooweg Development Corporation

Claire Ryan                                                     Cooke Aquaculture

Sam Carberry                                                 Higher Talent

Trevor McLeod                                              The Gray Group

Ben Ladner                                                      Cox and Palmer

Bill Dowe                                                         Bill Dowe Trucking and Excavating

– 30 –

About the Atlantic Chamber – The Voice of Atlantic Canadian Business

The Atlantic Chamber of Commerce (ACC) is the largest accredited business organization of influence in Atlantic Canada representing more than 16,000 businesses and their 300,000 employees through its network of 90 Chambers of Commerce in the four Atlantic Provinces. For more than 125 years, ACC has served as the voice of Atlantic Canadian business and actively partners with its members and other organizations to help create a strong, vibrant, and growing Atlantic Canada.

    Your Cart
    Your cart is emptyReturn to Shop
      Calculate Shipping
      Apply Coupon
      English French